You know that reckless driving can cause a serious accident. However, you might not be clear on what this legal term actually means.
Virginia drivers should be familiar with the state’s categorization of actions considered reckless driving.
Reckless driving definition
Actions considered reckless driving in Virginia include:
- Driving when you have obstructed visibility
- Driving when your controls or brakes do not work properly
- Turning or switching lanes without using a signal
- Racing other vehicles
- Passing at the top of a hill or when two vehicles are already traveling abreast
- Passing a school or emergency vehicle
- Speeding at least 20 miles per hour over the limit or faster than 80 mph
- Losing control of the vehicle
- Driving abreast in the same lane with another vehicle
- Driving too fast for inclement weather conditions
The state can also use a reckless driving charge for any other motorist action that puts others in danger.
Reckless driving penalties
If convicted of this charge, you could receive a six-month license suspension plus six points on your driving record. Points carry possible license suspension or completion of a Department of Motor Vehicles driver improvement course.
In some cases, you could receive up to 12 months in jail and a $2,500 fine. Racing may carry a doubled license suspension with vehicle revocation for subsequent charges.
When reckless driving results in wrongful death, you could receive up to 20 years in jail if convicted. This sentence places Virginia reckless driving laws among the strictest in the nation. In addition, many types of reckless driving convictions remain on your driving record for up to 11 years.